Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, please forgive any ignorance as I am very new to pigeons. I recently found a weak racing pigeon in my garden, and after taking care of it for a few days we managed to capture it and report its ring number. We then managed to get in touch with the owner after a week or so. The owner told me that the bird had been missing for around 5 years after a dog attacked his loft and the 150 or so birds in there. After some discussion it was decided that I could keep the bird. I know the owner said he'd given up racing after losing all his birds 5 years ago, but believe he plans to start up again. This bird is 6 years old, and since it may have been living wild for 5 years I guess he wouldn't settle well into a young training flock. We were keeping the bird in a large spare adapted rabbit hutch whilst waiting to hear from the owner, and now plan to sort out something more permanent, but I could use some advice on managing this bird. He has been in and out for exercise and baths and always returns eventually for food... however getting him into the hutch has up to now been more of a trapping effort, than his choice. How can I re-acclimatise this bird to loft-living after 5 years of sleeping anywhere he can find? And is it possible to retrain an old bird to return to a new home he wasn't born in?
I'm aware that he may never fully re-domesticate, and to be honest, I'm happy to continue to feed him and provide shelter for him as a semi-wild bird, but would love it if we could get him comfy and get him a hen, so any and all advice is thoroughly welcomed.

·
Registered
20,301 Posts