·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please Help

Mr Croaks Mr Raspy

He is a tough little pigeon but I have not cured him yet

He was raspy and I thought it might be air sac mites
wormed the lot = maybe did not do it properly because I let them eat while being wormed
and with the anti biotics I left grit in so - I stuffed up there
This is my first year with pigeons so I need a hand please

Gave him anti biotics kept him inside 3 days he improved
put him out checked again 3-4 day later still raspy

Brought him inside Again
He does not like it put him on anti biotics (no grit) wormed him again 4 hours without food

He is not well but does not seen in danger because while being treated he is fiesty wing slaps
actually pushed the bloody wire door free and spend the day in my office
the whole ordeal is stressing me and him out to be honest

He is bred for stock $100 bird but he is good and he is a "he" as he challenges me
after being put in the medicine cage

I checked for canker and can't see any but have I mis diagnosed him and it is canker?
and I am onto it before it got real bad?
and if it is mild or the beginning of a form of canker? is that making him croaky

I have resorted to using 5ml syringes to give him anti biotics and worming as well as it being in the water
so I know he is getting it

5ml Oxymav B mix
5ml Ausmectic mix

then I did
5ml of lemon and aus bush honey similar to manuka today
some bush honey is anti viral I thought if there is something resistant to anti biotics that will help
and the honey should help his energy levels

Over the top and he did not like it but seems ok this evening less tail bobbing seemed relaxed

All the other birds I only have 10 are really really healthy

ANyone got any ideas or approaches I am getting some canker medicine
and trying that after 5 more days of anti biotics

Tough as he is if I do not get this right it will take him out eventually

It is Autumn in Aus Winter is Approaching