Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pigeons tried to nest in the crawlspace in the shop where I work. Two adults were chased out and the boss sealed up the hole in the roof where they got in. A few days passed.
And last night: the telltale squealing of a hungry squab we didn't know was there.

I got up into the roof and grabbed the little fella. He (or she) looks to be about three weeks old. He was famished, so I took him home and have been feeding him, much to his delight. Very feisty, friendly and strong!

But I feel that on some level, I've done a bad thing. The ideal would have been to reopen the hole in the roof and let the parents back in to raise him, but they would have bought friends and the boss would have gone ballistic. And there was nowhere to leave him outside where he wouldn't have been exposed and in danger.

I was a vet nurse for a while and raised two lost babies that clients had found and brought in (I was supposed to euthanase them, but couldn't, even though I was breaking local law by refusing. I love pigeons, always have). The first one was absolutely devoted to me, very clever and the best bird pal I ever had. The second was more businesslike, sort of leery of me, but grew up good and strong.

The mistake I made was releasing both of them. I now realise that it's likely they died of starvation, or car, or cat, or dog once they were free. I will feel eternally awful about this. I did not know about attempting a "soft release" at that time and feel like scum.

So now I have baby #3, ("Corny"), who seems like he will be a very friendly bird, like the first one. If he does imprint on me, and it seems to be going that way, releasing will be difficult. Unless I can rehome him, I think I'm stuck with a feathered companion.