Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I work as a volunteer for MickaCoo Pigeon and Dove rescue here in the SF Bay Area. Although we mostly seek out Domestic Birds who can not survive in the wild, I have noticed an increased number of Feral Pigeons on Pigeon Talk and locally being found injured and in need of foster care/rehab. In fact, I see injured pigeons in Downtown SF all the time. I have heard of more than a dozen people that work on their own doing this work. I am working on some ideas to promote a group gathering people who rehab pigeons or are interested in joining a local social/feral pij meet up group. If you are located in the area and are interested or belong to such a group in your area, I would love to talk to you and get your input. There is a real need and I think there are a lot of Pigeon Hobbyist who would really love it and also be helping save a lot of lives.

Thank you!
All My Best,
Cheryl:cool:

·
Registered
4,089 Posts
Hi Cheryl....I tghink we have communicated before a few times, perhaps via one of Elizabeth's e-mail blasts or such. Anyway...on this Forum in SF we have myself, Elizabeth, and Ivor (who you likely also have heard from before).

There were also members ArfArf and Nanobriga, but they seem to have disappeared. There is someone else who's username I am forgetting - she lives down in the Marina/Cow Hollow n'hood. Then there have been various folks who have come here fgor help in a singhle-rescue situation (more often than not the patient ending up w/ me).

And the East Bay has a few folks as well, Karijo being the one who comes to mind since she actually set up a loft herself. I do not know if Feralpigeon is around anymore....she used to be in Oakland but rumour has it she moved up north to Canada or something.

Then there's MaryJane in Sonoma, and a few folks in San Jose , too.....(apologies if I am skipping someone local, my grey matter ain't what it used to be).