Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the hobby, and noticed yesterday I have 2 of my 12 birds that are "fluffed" out all the time, lethargic and eating very little if at all. These are young birds, I feed Nutriblend Green/gold, clean loft and they have been with me for about a week. Any ideas on what I should treat for, and should I treat just the 2 birds or all 12?

Thanks,
mb5322
Matt

·
Registered
13,047 Posts
Matt ...Your birds could be sick with several different things and a combination of several things. I would be suspicious of coccidia and worms. Please remove the fluffed birds and bring them inside where you can offer them supportive care. That means, keep them warms and hand feed them and monitor their condition.
They aren't going to get better without supportive care and a proper diagnosis of the problem and the medicines to treat them with. All your birds will need to be treated once you find out what the illness is.
The very best would be to take the sickest to a vet for diagnosis and ask for meads for all the birds.
You must act quickly as once birds show symptoms of illness, they are really sick.

·
Premium Member
25,396 Posts
I'm new to the hobby, and noticed yesterday I have 2 of my 12 birds that are "fluffed" out all the time, lethargic and eating very little if at all. These are young birds, I feed Nutriblend Green/gold, clean loft and they have been with me for about a week. Any ideas on what I should treat for, and should I treat just the 2 birds or all 12?

Thanks,
mb5322
Matt

You do need to get this taken care of asap-get a proper diagnosis, as time is of the essence. Possibly all your birds need to be treated, depends on the diagnosis.