Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I just joined Pigeon Talk today; I'm looking for some advice on a pigeon that my daughter brought home, She thought it had a broken wing and brought it to me to fix up. But she doesn't have a broken wing at all. Her head is twisted to the side and when we came too close, it would twist all the upside down. Poor birdie. :(

Aside from the twisted head, she looks beautiful. Soft, smooth, shiny feathers, full but not puffy. Clear, shiny and alert eyes. Clean cloaca. Feet are clear and a nice red color. No unusual dryness. No swelling on her body that I can tell. Poops are a little questionable. I have a lot of experience "reading" poop from my two tiels. Some are runny, some not so much. They are chalky white with a dark foresty green. Some poops have a bit of stringy appearance to the dark green. Her head twists to the right and she has to lean her left side of her body into the box to keep her balance. She to fall over to the left if not propped up. I have a heating pad under the box and two hot water bottle in the box wrapped in a towel that I lean her up against. I prop her twisted head up with paper towels. Is there any thing else I can do for her?

I have her in the bathroom because I have two cockatiels. I don't know if they can catch this or not. I have my daughter helping me take of the pigeon so she understands we are expected to help all of the earth's creatures.
The birdie is very gentle and she'll drink water from a little cup if I straighten out her head and hold it under her beak. She resisted me feeding her some of the cockatiel seed I have here. I don't want to toture her, so I only fed a few seeds and a few mashed peas. I don't know how much to feed her. I don't know exactly what's wrong with her, either. I don't know if I should medicate her or what. I need some serious advice. I don't want to do the wrong thing and hurt the birdie.

·
Administrator