Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yes, I'm a complete newb at all of this. Very amazed for one, and quite starry-eyed after these little German Owl's as well. They are amazingly calm, and will perch on my hand with a bit of prodding. Anyway, they're quite persistent on this egg laying business. The first two eggs were laid about two weeks ago, and were laid on the wire and they unfortunately busted. So, when they were moved to the new pen, they felt comfortable enough the same day to lay another egg. I made a nest box out of a cardboard box and some straw, and of course duct tape. They succeeded in removing most of the hay and when I picked it out of the wire floor, and placed it back in the box, they must've thought it better situated. They laid another egg, and settled down on them both. For a whole day now. A WHOLE day! :eek:

So what in the world do I do if the crazy lovebird-pigeons are successful? At the moment I'm worried about the little female. Laying four eggs probably took a bit out of her (calcium/potassium/idontknowwhat) and all I'm feeding is a pigeon pellet, and cockatiel food mixed in with it. Which they really like as they empty most of the bowl looking for the fruit flavored stuff before they get to the regular pellets. Is this a good enough diet? I was told by the previous owner to get the Green/Gold Pigeon pellets, but our feed store didnt have them and buying a fifty pound bag of food for two pigeons is a bit crazy, so the feed store donated it as they are a 4-H project. What a great town we live in...

Anyway, long story short: what do I do to "chick-proof" and be "chick-ready"? I haven't a clue... I do know that in 15 more days it should hatch, well the first one. But other than that...

:confused:Help!?!?!?:confused:

·
Registered
578 Posts
it takes 17 day for the first egg to hatch, then 18-20 for the second egg to hatch,