Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 20 new young birds and this is my first attempt ever to train homing pigeons. I plan to use the white homing pigeons for release events. I've been releasing them from loft over a month. Some have ventured out for several minutes and returned. However, most of them, hang out on my house roof, top of loft and walking around the yard. They do trap when I shake can and blow whistle. My concern is they have no desire to fly off and be gone for longer periods of time? I'm so ready to train them to return to loft, but I feel their not ready. I'm I doing something wrong? Any suggestions?:mad::mad:

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
well I would lose the mad faces first..lol.. you are not doing anything wrong except perhaps expecting too much too soon from young birds. white birds tend to be a little more less concerned about routing than say high strung racing homers. I would get them up with a flag or something, let them do a few laps and do that for another month. then you can start taking them down the road so they will have to fly then and build muscle, after you have worked up to 30 miles with them you should be good to go 50 with them and start your releases. they get better with age so don't push them too much twice a week road training is about right when they have been flying for a few months, 20 miles or more can be stressful on too young of birds. remeber they are only around 12 weeks old!

·
Guardian Angel
4,163 Posts
Well there is something worng here. Young healty homeing/race birds love to fly The birds might have sickness or you may not have true homers there have been people that sell so called homers to new comers that are the squabing type that are bred for the dinner table. Can you post a pictuer of your birds so we that have race birds can tell you that they in fact are homers GEORGE;)

·
Registered
20,301 Posts