Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me start by saying I am relatively new to pigeons. I have a mini loft that I had several ybs in and a pair of prisoners from a fancier near me. The prisoners laid a couple of weeks ago and things were going well. I don't really like the idea of prisoners b/c of the lack of space, but my daughters help me with our new found hobby. This is the first set of eggs I have had and my girls were excited. Sunday I must have left the door to the loft open b/c the hen and sevearl ybs got out. She hung around the neighborhood that evening, but I haven't seen her since. The fancier I got her from hasn't seen her either. The cock stayed, but quit setting yesterday. I have several pair of race birds in breeder cages that are setting and one of the pair only had one egg. I took one of the eggs and put it under her and she is doing fine. The other I tried to put under another hen, but she cracked it when I went to put it in. Given that this good egg should hatch by the end of the week and the hen's original egg is only a week old, what are the chances she will successfully raise the other bird's egg?

Please before anyone jumps on me about space issues, I started a 6'x10' loft, which should be completed by this weekend. All I have left is the aviary. I realized that more room is a must if we are going to stay in this. I contacted my local race club and those guys are being a huge help.

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
if the foster hen's egg is only a week old and the abandoned one is going to hatch she and her mate will not have the pigeon milk in to feed the hatchling, you will have to raise this one yourself if it hatches.

to foster eggs they need to be laid with in 3 ot 5 days of each other.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
More info