Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found an injured pigeon 3 days ago and have been trying to get some medical help for it but no luck...the only help I have been offered is too euthanize. He is bright and walks around fine but his wing drags and he keeps getting out of his splint....I am not experienced in this and do not want to stress him or cause more damage.

Now this is the problem he will not be able to function normally if healed by itself and I can not find any vets willing to work on him only to examine and see if it is worth him living and I fear it has been broken too long. Closest rehab is 5 hours away and they do not get up where we are. I would keep him but I fear that the dragging wing will constantly be injured in semi-normal life.

So here I am wanting to help him and now I will have a vet bill just for him to be looked at and then euthanized :(

·
Registered
13,047 Posts
Can you post a picture?
Pigeon do adapt to being captive and can have a happy life. I don't know how much the wing drags, which is why a picture will help but you may be able to trim the feathers do the bird isn't disabled by the wing. Where in Canada are you located?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Can you post a picture?
Pigeon do adapt to being captive and can have a happy life. I don't know how much the wing drags, which is why a picture will help but you may be able to trim the feathers do the bird isn't disabled by the wing. Where in Canada are you located?
I live in Fort McMurray Alberta...his wing drags a fair bit. Everyone I talk to say that even if he is rehabbed that is quality of life will be nil...they are making me feel guilty for trying.

trying to upload pic

·
Registered
2,221 Posts