Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everyone, as many of you may know I am very new to the sport, and have a few questions about where i may be going wrong.
So far this year i have 23 ybs in my tb loft, and about 20 more will be ready for the yb loft in about 2 weeks. I have already got the first 23 birds flying, they are just now starting to flock together.

Did I make a mistake by training half of my yb team before they were all ready to be trained?

If so how should I handle it from here?

·
Registered
1,646 Posts
That's how I do it. Half my team have been down the road and the other half are just now getting out of the loft. I keep them in two groups until the 4th of July and then start training them all together. I've got a trap for each group and once they're together they seem to be okay with trapping into their own section. As time progresses I seperate them again Hens and Cocks. Losses will cut your numbers down with time as Mother nature seems to know how many should be in your loft...45 or 50 YB's is a lot to manage. Good luck!

·
Registered
5,367 Posts
hi everyone, as many of you may know I am very new to the sport, and have a few questions about where i may be going wrong.
So far this year i have 23 ybs in my tb loft, and about 20 more will be ready for the yb loft in about 2 weeks. I have already got the first 23 birds flying, they are just now starting to flock together.

Did I make a mistake by training half of my yb team before they were all ready to be trained?

If so how should I handle it from here?
Not sure how training those that were ready could possible be a "mistake" or wrong. Now, if you took them down the road and for some reason lost some, maybe one might suggest you sent them too early, but that does not appear to be the case. As far as how would you progress from here ? I would send the rest of the birds the distance they are ready for, when they are ready to train.