Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am a high school teacher and a pair of pigeons recently raised a baby on the pillar outside of my classroom. I'm a bird lover by nature and obviously became attached to the little family as baby bird grew. I noticed right before Thanksgiving break while baby bird was still in the nest that his eyes looked swollen. However, my students did not agree and I thought I might be overly concerned. He was several feet above me and hard to get a good look at.

Two days ago, baby bird fledged. I was excited until he was unable to get off the ground and when I investigated, he definitely appeared to have pox. The pox is bad enough that he has trouble seeing. He has stayed grounded since then. His parents are staying with him and feeding him but his condition is worsening. This morning he was huddled by a doorway which is a bad spot for a bird at a high school. I moved him and when I did, he regurgitated. His bottom is very soiled from loose stool and his beak has some dried blood. He is resting now in a spot where the kids will not disturb him, but I am really worried and sad. I prefer to leave nature alone, but I have already interfered with this bird and am afraid his chances of survival are getting slimmer.

I have chickens and I have been trained to raise abandoned/rescued by other people baby blue jays, crows, and black birds. However, I have never rehabilitated a bird this apparently sick. Should I leave him? Should I try to seek assistance from a rescue? Should I take him in myself? Any advice is greatly appreciated. I've read a great deal in the last two days about pigeon pox and the other infections etc. he may have. I'm honestly not sure what course of action to take.

The bird is in Independence, Louisiana. I live in a nearby city. Closest large cities are Baton Rouge and New Orleans. I am also pregnant and not supposed to be handling wild birds generally.

·