Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My son and I have been keeping Birmingham Rollers for a few months, and we are getting ready to open up our new loft. The new loft has space for two breeds of pigeons, and we have decided that we would like homing pigeons. We're not planning to race, just train them and take them for drops of 30 to 50 miles. My wife has voiced her opinion, and thinks we should get white birds. She has always wanted doves, and she also thinks that maybe she wants to do white dove releases.

So here we are searching for white homing pigeons. We are on a tight budget, so would like to help someone out :cool: by taking some of their excess stock off of their hands. I can drive within a reasonable distance from Eastern Massachusetts to pick up birds, or maybe we can work out shipping. Let me know if you have white homers that you need to find homes for.

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
so are you looking for breeding pairs of white homers or young birds?. usually the breeding will start at the end of the year or early next year, some do sell white young birds for profit all year, but you would have to do your home work to make sure they come form a decent breeder who takes care of his birds and does not have sickness in the loft. Older breeders can not be flown and they would be prisoners you have to feed and take care of but not fly.

Just to add, you should buy banded birds, if the breeder bands their birds you know they like to keep track of them and put in the money to buy the bands and make the effort to put a seemless on them shows more responsiblity and not just a mass breeder of white birds who does not want to spend the money on bands because he has so many.

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
Discussion Starter #4