Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
343 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Cock or hens?

Hey guys,

I was wondering what your thoughts on the gender of these 2 birds. They are both about 5-6 months old. They both seem to 'bow-coo' but I can't surely say that they are both cocks.

Also, at what age do these birds usually ready to mate?

I'm a bad photographer with a bad camera. Excuse me for the low quality of the pictures.

God Bless and Have a happy Thanksgiving.
Kevin

Attachments

·
Registered
343 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
At what age do they usually start getting ready to mate?

I will put them together in a breeding cage for a few weeks or so just to experiment.

Kevin

·
Registered
1,138 Posts
They might be old enough but you never know some are at that age some ain't. My guess is hen/cock but very hard to tell especially the second pic a more straight sideways pic is better.

·
Registered
2,528 Posts
The first one looks like a hen :) But not sure whthr "she" will make the second pal to lay eggs :D

I had paired up 2 babies when they where about 4 - 5 months, the exact statistics as below:

Male is today 7 months 15 days, female is today 7 months 11 days
They sat on a full cycle on dummy eggs first.
Hatchling from the second round of egg is today 28 days old

Now I leave you to calculate when the pair laid their first round of eggs, assume 2 weeks between finishing the first cycle and laying the second set of eggs, all mathematics :D

·
Registered
115 Posts
another good way too tell is to pick em up and feel for the pelvic bone just under the tail the females have a very large space approx 2 finger width's while the male only half this

·
Registered
11,455 Posts