Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started flying my 4 pigeons again(mom,dad and 2 kids). The older son actually attracted a very beatiful female and she came in with him into my aviary, after sleeping two days on the power pole by my background. I thought it was so romantic that my male pigeon didnt event come to the aviary to eat or drink but hung out with this new pretty lady. Now they have 2 eggs already :)
I just wanted to know what kind she is. also I forgot what kind my other female was. I know the dad is a White King pigeon.
So please check out my pictures and let me know what you think.

Attachments

·
Registered
9,868 Posts
I am not good with recognizing breeds, but they sure are pretty birds.

Reti

·
Premium Member
25,396 Posts
I'm glad your male pigeon attracted a new pigeon to the loft, but you really need to isolate any new and strange pigeons you allow in your coop for several weeks. it is just a precaution, but disease can bring down and has brought down a whole coop, just by allowing a stranger to come inside. Also, birds should get preventive nutrition before breeding.

Those are lovely birds, by the way... :)

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The white King is actually my first pigeon. I found it at a gas station door one night when I was filling up. I approached and tried to pet and it didnt run away or anything, so I held him. It was love at first sight :) then one of my friends who is a pigeon fanatic and has couple hundred rare breed pigeons(not breeding just keeping them) gave me 3 other pigeons including the West of England Tumbler. I lost the other two due to hawk attacks. and the tumbler and White King paired and had babies.