Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
I was going to reply, but Im not an expert on pairing...I have gotten unpaird birds before and while they were in their quatantine cage they paired up, so I would say you have to put them together where they can see each other and then let them be together in their own space for a time...and watch as some just don't pair up they may just fight....do you know the sexes 100%?

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I was going to reply, but Im not an expert on pairing...I have gotten unpaird birds before and while they were in their quatantine cage they paired up, so I would say you have to put them together where they can see each other and then let them be together in their own space for a time...and watch as some just don't pair up they may just fight....do you know the sexes 100%?
yep i know the sexes as the cocks have red coil rings and the hens have blue coil rings as thee hens layed last year so i went round ring them then at the end of the year the cocks which were un ring i ringed with red rings sould i lock them in there nest box intill they have paired or what i think the problem was that i had them flying around the loft all the time

·
Registered
15,536 Posts
Don't just lock a pair of birds in a box/cage. The cock will beat up the hen and they can really do some damage.
Do the cocks have their own nest box? Would be good to see the set up you have. Can you lock the nest boxes?