Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to homers and planning to build a loft this Spring, get some young birds, hopefully train them to home and keep them healthy. I was wondering which books you guys and gals would recommend for a beginner to start his homing racing library? Thanks

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
My 2¢'s here:

To be honest with you, I learned a lot talking/sharing opinions with the members of Pigeon-Talk, sometimes the books is not going to give you enough info that you really need..The books give you idea about what you can do but something you are not aware of is not going to print in it...Like I always say, you will learn taking care and keeping pigeons once you have spend time with them every single day...The book is not going to tell you their extreme experience, you will end up buying so much books and still not enough info...There are advantages and disadvantages in the books but talking to your co-members will inform you more than the books...We do share our opinions here, there are some opposed to one opinion and there are some who agree with the another members opinions....In the books you only will believe what you read but here I say you will be better talking to everybody and post any kind of questions that you may have in the future and you will definitely will get some response...

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
You can't go wrong with The Flying Vet's Pigeon Health and Management by Dr. Colin Walker. It should be a required resource in every fanciers library. Great information, great pictures, all from a vet who is a pigeon racer himself. If you get the book, check out the pictures of his lofts. His vet practice must be doing pretty well!

Dan

·
Registered
286 Posts