Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time on here, I hope someone can give me some advice.

I've been keeping my doves for around 4 months now. I started with 6 which I homed successfully and 2 pairs had babies, these babies are now fully grown, and although they came back to the loft at night for the first week or so, they no longer roost here. They come back every day for food but don't stay. What can I do to encourage them sleep here. Should I lock them in the loft for a bit? I'm worried that their visits are getting less and less, 3 of the original adults are now awol as well as one of the babies.

·
Registered
579 Posts
Yes we need to know are they doves or white homers. If there doves they pretty much will do what they want.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the replies.
I think they are a mix as we breed white homers with avery bird which I assume were fantails.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I'm wondering if feeding them at night will encourage them to come home. They came home this morning so I've locked them in their house/loft while I contemplate what to do.

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
if they are mixed you might never get them homed in from a long distance . if you want birds to come home from a long distance get some homers . if you are doing it for fun you don't have to pay allot for a bird .

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Hi
I'm not trying to race them or anything. I just want them to live freely in the garden but return to the loft at night.

·
Registered
29,795 Posts
Maybe you need to keep them in for longer, til they think of it as their home. How long have you had them? They have to like their loft and feel secure there, so that some place else doesn't seem better to them.
Most train them to come in to a feed call when they want them in. Your birds probably need training.

·
Registered
1,010 Posts