Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my younsters are all dying,just before the two week stage,im new to pigeon racing ,breeding ect ive treated them for samenela for i was told that maybe the cause have you got any other suggestions plz

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
I think some more information is needed in order to help. Where are you located? What is the setup of your loft? What are their parents being fed and how much? Is there fresh water and grit available at all times? How many birds are together in the breeding section and how big is that section? The answers to these questions will help us help you better.

Dan

·
Premium Member
25,396 Posts
*my younsters are all dying,just before the two week stage,im new to pigeon racing ,breeding ect ive treated them for samenela for i was told that maybe the cause have you got any other suggestions plz
I'm so sorry to hear all your babies are dying.

Perhaps you should get your birds examined by a qualified avian vet before you allow them to breed again.

* That really is a classic symptom of Paratyphoid, but there could be something else going on.

What medication/s did you use to treat the birds?

Are the youngsters showing any kind of other symptoms, did the parents stop feeding them?

Have you treated your birds for E coli?

·
Registered
216 Posts
One thing I have noticed with new people is they tend to have over crowded lofts and/or not enough nesting/perching areas.
When I first started, I had to many birds in too small an area (I was actually a collector back then) and I had the same problems. The babies where all dying. I had a friend who raised pigeons come by and he said I would either have to build another loft or get rid of some of what I had. The dominant males and females were actually killing the babies.
I am not saying there is not a disease in your loft, but please look at the crowding issue as well.
Best of luck,

·
Registered
5,367 Posts