Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, it's been ages since I was here last but remembered you gave me some great advice when i needed it.

I am not an expert on pigeons so please help me!!

I found an injured pigeon (Daisy) 6 years ago and has given another (Pidge) by my vet 5 years ago. They have been living happily in my garden aviary, they were the best of friends.

Pidge died very unexpectedly last night, obviously I am real upset but am more upset for Daisy having lost her companion. It seems sad to see her in the aviary all alone.

I feel the best thing to do is find her another pigeon friend.

Is this a good idea?

Is there anything else I can do for her? I am so worried she will pine for her best friend.

Any help will be gratefully received.

best wishes

Jade.

·
Registered
11,336 Posts
Hi Jade,

I am so sorry that Pidge died!

I think it is a very good idea to get Daisy another companion, as pigeons are flock birds they feel safer in the company of others. There are always pigeons needing good homes, I am certain that you won't have to wait long. If you let us know where you are we might be able to help.

Cynthia

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Cynthia, Thanks for the speedy response. I think I remember you giving me advice years ago when I found my first pigeon.

I am in Gloucestershire (forest of dean). If anyone has a hen that needs a home please get in touch. I am willling to travel, within reason!

Best wishes

Jade

·
Registered
911 Posts
So Sorry for your loss of Pidge. Poor Daisy must be lost. I sure hope you find a new campanion for Daisy soon.

·
Registered
13,047 Posts
I'm so sorry for you and Daisy. Do you have any idea why Pidge died? Do you think that Daisy may need to be checked over by a vet to make sure she is ok?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hi and thanks for your kind words.