Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to homing pigeons and have read alot on this forum. The best advice I have read is to use screws instead of nails. I swear I have changed something in my small loft everyday for the last two weeks and know what I want in my next one. I have been putting my yb in a cage on the landing board every morning for a week. They sit in there for half a hour. I place the feed and call them. I open the inside door and thru the bobs they storm. Now I am taking them out and just setting them on the board, they jump and fly around trying to get back in right away, the inside bob door is closed. They seem more interested in getting back in then looking around. My question is should I force them to stay outside for awhile each time, trap door closed. Or should I just let them come back inside as fast as they want, I am going to try racing. I'm torn because I know the need to get flying soon, but you also want them to learn to trap quickly. Im leaning towards leaving the bob door closed for a half hour each morning, which does seem to fustrate them. Any advice would be appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
142 Posts
yeah for my first time with my YB's i did the same thing. cept i kept them on the landing board for 2 weeks...and when i call them in they would run right in...but during these weeks as i let them go back into the loft to eat i move them back 5 feet away from the bob traps and the landing board and the would either run/walk/fly right into the traps, thats when i know i can let them loft fly. well it worked for me not saying you have to do it. but just saying. and nice looking YB's! did u buy em or breed them?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·