Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday I recived twenty (20) YBs that I purchased from another loft. I'm guessing they are about five weeks old. They have lost their down and some are able to fly up to some of the lower level perches.

After vaccinating all of them I placed in the loft, one-by-one, through the Sputnik entrance. All are doing well this morning. They have access to the Sputnik avaiary.

How long should I wait before I begin trap training by placing them on the settling board before feeding? Two weeks?

Because they will be older and able to fly, should I wash/wet their feathers before placing them on the board?

This is my first time with 'kit' birds and the Sputnik. Just trying to figure it out.

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
I would give them about 5 days to settle in then start your training.. you can do the feed call now and everyday when you feed.

·
Registered
5,367 Posts
Yesterday I recived twenty (20) YBs that I purchased from another loft. I'm guessing they are about five weeks old. They have lost their down and some are able to fly up to some of the lower level perches.

After vaccinating all of them I placed in the loft, one-by-one, through the Sputnik entrance. All are doing well this morning. They have access to the Sputnik avaiary.

How long should I wait before I begin trap training by placing them on the settling board before feeding? Two weeks?

Because they will be older and able to fly, should I wash/wet their feathers before placing them on the board?

This is my first time with 'kit' birds and the Sputnik. Just trying to figure it out.